Hotel - Mercure Canberra
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Canberra

4.0/5 2,022 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:00 - 22:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:00 - 22:30

Business services

  • 3 meeting room(s)
  • Business centre
    • Business center with support staff
    • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Congress centre

Canberra Centre1 km / 0.62 mi

Your meetings and events

Guests looking for Canberra conference facilities should look no further than Mercure Canberra. Featuring versatile function rooms, superb accommodation options and a wonderfully central location, this Canberra conference centre is the ideal choice for small to mid-size events in the nation's capital. Guests organising an event at the hotel can choose from a range of event spaces, each with flexible function layouts available, from cocktail and banquet style, to boardroom and classroom style. Accommodating 8 to 180 delegates, event spaces are tastefully presented and well appointed, each providing essential conference facilities. A range of packages and menus are available. The hotel events team is also on hand to assist with planning and organisation.

Mercure Canberra Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
AINSLIE BOARDROOM 45 m2 2.7 m 30 18 18 18 30
CARLTON ROOM 229 m2 2.8 m 140 40 40 60 130
GROSVENOR ROOM 112 m2 2.9 m 50 30 36 30 40
    • Flipchart
    • Podium
    • Lectern
    • Slide projector
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector
    • WIFI access

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

Modern and comfortable, yet stylishly graceful, guest rooms at Mercure Canberra manage to retain their traditional charm while providing all the modern conveniences. Guests staying at this heritage-listed Canberra hotel can choose from a variety of accommodation types, with Superior and Deluxe options available. Each room is spacious and well designed, with all the essentials and a few little luxuries. Rooms feature a modern ensuite, air conditioning with manual temperature control, a work desk and a TV.

  • 129 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 33 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Baby bed
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating 6,691 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Canberra

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,022 reviews
Genie H. L. Couples - 15/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Okay.. »

Hotel generally looked not attended in detail. Considering price range it was less than expected. A bit disappointed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Hyung, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Canberra. We are deeply sorry that you felt disappointed, that is an emotion that we must avoid and correct. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ra… so we can discuss a bit more about the reason why you have felt this way. We have a heritage building with a certain old fashion style and design. We are the opposite of cold and modern hotel and we do apologised if you didn't feel at ease at the Mercure hotel. Once again we are sorry that your experience did not respond to your needs, and if there is anything I can do or organise for your future stay in Canberra, do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Marilyn C. Friends - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Staff could be better trained dining room (breakfast) staff did not have much supervision at times you could not find them »

Overall it was not what I expected from 4star reservation staff were very helpful but the cleaning of the room had not been up to stranded I had to remake my bed in the first night has it had not been made properly, the floor well I do not think it a vacuum cleaner had been used all the time we were there. As for the air conditioner well I will not even go there. I do like this hotel I like where it is, but this the second time I have been in the hotel and both visits have been dissapointiong

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Marilyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests. I am sorry to see things did not go great. I will share your comments with our Team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be an improvement from the previous one. Please feel free to contact me directly, it would be a pleasure to assist you with your next stay as it is our hope you will give us another chance. Kindest Regards, Rosa Echevarria Front Office Manager Mercure Canberra

Chris M. Business - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« I appreciated the room upgrade and the consistent regard shown for my ptronage and accor plus membership »

My experience staying with you was very good. There is a back story to my stay which is relevant to your business. I was in Canberra conducting training as part of my business for a number of clients including Boeing. I needed a conference venue for the training along with full catering. I had tried to contact your conferencing staff more than a week prior to the trip to check availability and secure a quotation I tried for 3 days and left 3 messages, both on the conferencing voicemail and the main reception. Nobody returned my call. My Accor Plus club experience so far has been extremely good with your partner hotels and it was this loyalty to your brand that had motivated me to try and place the conference business with your property. Ultimately by the time I finally heard back there was no availability and I went with a competitor to you. The lacklustre response to my conference enquiry also informed my decision about where I would stay while in Canberra. I would have possibly stayed with you for my entire visit and only ended up staying there for 1 night.

Mark Couples - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Efficient and friendly staff. »

Older style hotel with good size rooms and nice outdoor courtyard.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mark, Thank you, Mark, for your great review of your stay at Mercure hotel. We are delighted that everything went well and thank you for highlighting the amazing service provided by the staff Thank you for your loyalty to Accor hotel and for choosing Mercure hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Anonymous Couples - 13/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Pleasant and enjoyable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ashley, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Canberra. A pleasant and enjoyable experience is all you need when staying in a hotel. Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel while visiting Canberra and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Helen L. Business - 13/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful »

beautiful old building, staff very welcoming, great spot, beautifully manicured grounds and gardens

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Helen, What a beautiful review, thank you, Helen, for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that the hotel facilities have pleased your expectations and thank you for highlighting the immaculate garden. Thank you for choosing Mercure Canberra and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Colin M. Couples - 13/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Reasonable »

We have stayed many times before and were very surprised that there was a $10 parking fee. We feel that with our annual fee and the fact that I have been an Advantage Plus member since it started and that we are pensioners that all of these extra charges should not be applicable. I was also not happy to have to pay the booking fee of $20 because I tried to book online but was not able to.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Colin, Thank you for your loyalty to Accor hotel and for being part of the Advantage plus family. I understand your comment regarding the parking situation and while you are making an excellent point we have to secure parking for our guest as our car park was badly used from the worker in the city centre. Thank you for raising to my attention the booking fee and I will take it to Accor central reservation to found out what this is about. Thank you for coming back to Mercure Canberra and we hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Trissa P. Families - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent »

Really good. Lovely room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John, Thank you, John, for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to read that you have found the hotel comfortable and well appointed. Thank you again for choosing Mercure Canberra and we look forward to having you back. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

John C. Couples - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Below expectation »

Room was ok; restaurant was closed due to a function so had to eat offsite as bar & menu were not suitable; bar staff less than helpful & busy talking to friends; certain conditions weren't explained at all during check-in. The experience this time around was nowhere near as good as our previous stay

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Canberra. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We thank you for your loyalty to Accor hotel and for coming back to Mercure Canberra. I will address the observation you have made in your review with my Food And Beverage team as well as my Front office team. Thank you, once again, for taking the time to give us your feedback so we can continuously improve our customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future stay in Canberra if you are willing to give us another chance to better serve you. Kind regards Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Not R. Families - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« clean comfortable room in a handy location with polite staff »

enjoyable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ian, What a pleasure to read your comment and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for highlighting the great service provided by the staff. We are delighted that you have appreciated the location and the old fashion style of the hotel. Thank you again for choosing Mercure Canberra and we hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud

JoT63 Couples - 12/04/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Time for a re-do »

We’ve stayed here on several occasions mainly because of its location. However the Hotel in general needs updating. The rooms along the rear are not sound proof so we could the guests in the adjoining room talking, using the bathroom etc. our room had a balcony but it overlooked a almost non-existent garden, wire fence & ugly car park (which by the way isn’t secure nor undercover & guests are charged a fee for using). The room itself was clean & comfortable. Bathroom was clean but not overly spacious & had everything that we required. Isn’t it time Hotels discontinue making guests climb in & out of a bath just to have a shower. I’m not sure how old people cope with that. The dining room is looking tired & has no attractive outlook despite the large windows. It wasn’t open for dinner on the Monday that we stayed. Reception staff were friendly & made check in/out smooth but the reception area is small & unatttactive with an ice cream fridge of all things. Overall the Hotel is like a rabbit warren which may appeal to some people. I understand that this Hotel is a heritage building but hopefully at least the interior public areas can be made more inviting, light & airy, & that the car park can be made more secure. But I can highly recommend it for the location (walking distance to shopping mall & War Memorial).

Peter Families - 11/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient & did the job at a reasonable price »

No issues, worked fine

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Peter, Thank you, Peter, for taking a few minutes to answer our guest survey. We are pleased to read that you have had a convenient stay and that everything went well. Thank you for choosing the mercure hotel while staying in Canberra and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Justine Business - 11/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Exceptional customer service »

I stay in Canberra frequently but had never stayed at the Mercure before. I will definitely be back. The customer service was exceptionally good at all levels - from front desk to the staff at the bar and bistro. Everyone was so friendly and really went out of their way to assist.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Justine, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. It is such a pleasure to read a comment like yours. At Accor hotel, we emphasize the training on delivering outstanding customer service and we have thrilled to read that we have succeeded. Thank you for choosing Mercure Canberra hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future trip to Canberra. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Stephen W. Business - 10/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Fine »

One night over Budget week, was comfortable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us whilst away on business. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Kelsey Neale Assistant Manager

Anonymous Couples - 10/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely comfortable Central Hotel in Canberra »

Welcoming comfortable very neat clean and tidy

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nayerin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Canberra and thank you for your continued loyalty to Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, I am glad you enjoyed the upgrade to our loft room and you and your partner had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kelsey Neale Assistant Manager

Nathan Families - 08/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable with really friendly service »

We were only there for one night but the staff and service generally were really friendly and professional. The room was clean, tidy, comfortable. So a really good experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nathan, What a pleasure to read your review and thank you for tkaing the time to write a comment. We are delighted to read that you had excellent service from check in to check out, be ensure that I will pass on your great comment to my team. Thank you for your loyalty to Accor hotel and we look forward to having you back. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Andrea S. Couples - 08/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very enjoyable »

Staff were lovely and breakfast great. Would recommend Mercure to friends any time.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Edward, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback., especially about our staff as we pride ourselves in providing friendly and helpful service. It is also lovely to hear that you would recommend us to your friends! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next stay with us. Sincerely, Kelsey Neale Assistant Manager

Couples - 08/04/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Dont Stay Here »

Arrive , for a three day relax and unwind .Restauraunt closed for two nights although the Pub on site is opened ,Rooms have musky smell , air conditioner noise during the night ,no sleep , Room has water damaged cielings , dusty etc etc Mercure get your act together checked out early and stayed in the NOVATEL

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GrandTour15944297369, Thanks again for sharing your feedback with us. As discussed I am very sorry to have heard about your stay, but do appreciate you taking the time to talk with me, and help our hotels continue to improve. I'm delighted that you are going to give us a 2nd chance and look forward to meeting you when the warm weather returns. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Mercure Canberra

Lynne Solo - 07/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Quick break »

Relaxing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. A relaxing experience is always a good experience. Thank you for your 5stars review it is a real pleasure to know that even though you were here for a short time, you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being part of the Accor Family and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Raphael Bagnaud Assistant Manager

Richard J. Couples - 07/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Anniversay night »

Wonderful stay for our 20th anniversary

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Richard, We very much appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments, and I am glad we were able to make your anniversary even more special with the upgrade to our loft room and little treats. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope we see you back for your 21st anniversary! Sincerely, Kelsey Neale Assistant Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates