Hotel - Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

4.0/5 1,442 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying

Leisure and activities

Catering

  • Breakfast

Business services

See all services

Hotel location

Your meetings and events

Escape the confines of the office - host your meeting in the mellow surrounds of the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. Work in splendour in the two oak-panelled meeting rooms at the manor house. Six meeting rooms are available in the new wing, andall rooms feature complimentary high-speed WIFI, secretarial services and fresh coffee on tap. Our staff can supply breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea, and audiovisual equipment and laptops can be hired. Unwind at the end of the day in one of the hotels 89 guestrooms.

Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
PARK SQUARE 0 m2 2 m 16 0 10 0 0
PARK VIEW 0 m2 2 m 16 0 10 0 0
THE CAMBRIDGE 32 m2 2 m 30 18 12 12 16
THE LIBRARY 32 m2 2 m 0 16 12 8 12
OAK ROOM 33 m2 2 m 25 16 22 12 30
PIONEER 55 m2 2 m 40 20 26 18 30
PARK AVENUE 94 m2 3 m 80 30 30 36 70
PARK LANE 94 m2 3 m 80 30 30 36 70
THE PARKSIDE SUITE 189 m2 2 m 160 60 60 72 120
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Video equipment
    • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms are interconnecting, ideal if you are bringing your family. Choose a room in the original 18th-century manor house, or in the new wing, designed in a contemporary fashion. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. For a treat, our suites have a romantic four-poster bed and a spacious spa bathroom.

  • 89 rooms
  • 89 non-smoking rooms
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Baby bed
    • High speed transmission line
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.2/5 AccorHotels Rating 3,434 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,442 reviews
Kit Friends - 13/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Mostly okay »

Staff were all absolutely lovely (in particular the chap behind the lounge bar on Thursday night), room was a bit grubby and a quick paint would have helped... the bathroom fan sounded like a jumbo before take off... the shower was good!.. overall the room felt a bit aged. It was comfortable enough though and I slept really well. the breakfast was lovely but you could improve the coffee!... the machine coffee wasn’t particularly nice. The breakfast room was also looking a bit aged, but was comfortable with attentive pleasant staff. Overall I think the price was a little steep.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that you felt that certain areas in the Hotel were dated and the coffee at breakfast was not to your liking We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Dr T. P. Business - 13/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Great room and staff but poor management and pathetic Accorhotel group coordination »

Dr Tim P., Accor Group Loyalty No 30…8185 I booked one night (Friday 1 November) with Secret Dreams, the found I was able to spend another night in York so booked another night (Saturday 2 November) with the Accor reservation desk directly (on 28 October). That same evening I read that there was a special offer (free dessert for every two courses) if dinner was booked in advance, so I did that. On arrival at the hotel on Friday night, we were impressed by the size of the suite and spa bath. We came down to dinner to find that our reservation had not been transferred to the hotel from central reservations. The food was fine, but, guess what, we didn't get our free desserts! After dinner I wanted to try the spa bath but was unable to turn it on. After phoning Reception fruitlessly I went down to investigate and found a notice saying 'off helping another guest, back shortly'. This was the case for much of the weekend unfortunately. I'm sorry, but this is a busy hotel catering for big wedding parties and it really is not good enough to have only one person on Reception (or mainly not!). So I didn't get to spa that night. Breakfast next day was excellent. Next night we decided to eat out and afterwards I gave the bath one more try. This time there was somebody in Reception who explained where the well-hidden isolator switch was located. Job done! If there was a card in the bathroom explaining this, I could have had a nice relaxing bath the previous night as well! In fact there was no information in the room about hotel services. On check-out on Sunday morning, the sole lady on Reception was very efficient and the queue was quite short. However the computer was not working so I was unable to obtain the invoice I needed for work, and, indeed, I have still not received this over a week later. I have however received an additional UNAUTHORISED charge of £100 to my Mastercard bill dated 5 November, which as far as I am unaware is COMPLETELY UNJUSTIFIED and the final insult! I would be grateful if you could investigate and refund. You have all my registration and account details on file. In conclusion, the Mercure Fairfield Manor is a nice hotel with helpful and enthusiastic staff. It is let down by poor Reception arrangements, and an incompetent central reservations system. More information is needed in the room, and what should have been a premium quality experience was marred by incompetent management and organisation. Come on Accor, surely you can do better than this!! And while I'm at it, what on Earth is the point of belonging to a Loyalty Scheme where the accrued points get docked after only a year? Get real!! The only beneficiaries of such a scheme are travelling salesmen (and saleswomen). I look forward to hearing from you on the above points, and to receiving the refund of £100. This was a profoundly disappointing experience! Yours faithfully, Dr Tim P.

Anonymous Families - 12/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« adequately equipped room but overall needs refreshing »

staff were efficient and helpful . Bathroom taps were not easy to control - flow full on or not at all. Bathroom fan very noisy at times and fan itself seemed very dirty . Radiator in bedroom was behind a curtain .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Helena, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am pleased you were happy with the team but sorry that certain aspects o to your room was not to your liking We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

S B. K. Families - 11/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Good hotel »

We had a good stay in quiet rooms but felt the hotel was focussed on the wedding party rather than its other guests

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sarah, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. although I am pleased it looked like you had a nice stay I am sorry you felt that we didn't look after you as well as some of our other Hotel guests. I also see you marked us down a little on our Food and Beverage, would you mind letting us know what we could have done better? Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Ian S. Couples - 11/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Served a purpose »

Generally good

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that your partner slipped on the bridge during your stay from the recent raised water in this area. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

A P. Couples - 11/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Lovely Birthday Break »

Lovely experience from start to finish. Staff were very helpful, room was excellent . Looking forward to next visit!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ann , Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit :-) Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Kevin S. Couples - 10/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Booked with itison voucher. Staff do not appear to know about itison. »

Booked with itison voucher. We were told we had to pay 139 pounds when voucher stated 79 + 30 for Saturday night. Phoned back after re reading paperwork. Someone was meant to call us back but never did. Arrived on Saturday and spent 30 minutes explaining issue. Then another 20 minutes when we checked out on Sunday. Staff were helpful but 139 pounds taken out our account on the 4th. We complained and got our money back but there appears to be a real issue when trying to book using this system. We will definitely not use mecure hotels again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lynn and Kevin , Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At The Mercure York, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Clare who is my Front Office Manager is copied into this email who I will be speaking to about and understanding why this poor level of service happened. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

J. Business - 08/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Not Good »

Hotel was tired and rooms really needed updating The breakfast was extremely poor, with eggs that had been sat under a lamp for some time and every else swimming in grease

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I can see you chose our Hotel for a business stay and I am very sorry that we did not deliver the stay you would have wanted for your trip. My hope would be to invite you back on a complimentary basis to change your prospection of our Hotel and what we offer. I am sorry though that our Hotel is dated in the rooms and we are working hard to find ways to improve them with the means we have available to us. A poor breakfast experience is not acceptable and I will address this with Laura our Food and Beverage Manager Kind regards Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Mr M. Couples - 07/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Mr M. »

Nice hotel, enjoyed the stay there, recommended

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Kerry Couples - 06/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Good »

The bed was quite hard and the cooked breakfast should of had more choice available for what there was on my plate was not worth £11.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kerry, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.i am sorry you found the bed lumpy and would you please let me know what you would have liked to have seen as an offering on our breakfast buffet? We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Anon Families - 05/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Handily placed well run with large rooms »

Great staff. Good location. Comfortable and clean.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Alan , Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Anonymous Families - 05/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Had to comment on quality of housekeeping each morning. »

Ok. However hotel in need of some renovation. Rooms tired. Heated towel rail non functional. Housekeeping lax, one day cups not replaced next day bins not emptied and bed sheet not smoothed and tucked on. Leaking ceiling. Threadbare carpets in hallway.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry for the shortfall in service you recieved with Housekeeping. Our Head Housekeeper Vaida will ensure this is addressed with team We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Pj Couples - 05/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Could do better in some areas. »

Very comfortable with only minor gripes.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.We are working hard on ensuring we have the right team in at the right time and we are sorry on this occasion our bar was not up to the required standard We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Shelly Solo - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Miss michelle »

Fab room this time at part of hotel unseen beautiful staircase and decor had dinner and breakfast this time wonderful apologies to chef I could eat all. Staff were fab only issue was my key card rejected 1st uses replaced and again after dinner but must visit gardens for the summer.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Michelle, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.Our aim is to make usre our gardens look stunning ready for the new year Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Anonymous Friends - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« pretty good »

reception very efficient, quite slow behind the bar and the bottled beer was warm

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lee , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry to read that certain aspects of your stay were not the best including the bathroom and the team at the Bar. We are working hard to ensure we have the right team in the right place. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Simon P. Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Very good night's sleep and really friendly staff »

Everywhere around the hotel was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. Breakfast was not to bad but I didn't think it would be self service

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Simon We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. i am sorry though to read breakfast was not to your liking Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Mrs »

The experience was okay but the room was scuffy and tired.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Shani, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to read that our team was not as friendly as others you stayed in and our Hotel is a little tired. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

David B. Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« We had a very enjoyable stay! »

Comfortable, very helpful staff!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear David , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Darren A. Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Satisfied »

Only Satisfied as after booking I found an offer for your hotel,which I wanted to upgrade to,but your reservation dept,would allow me to,which I was very unhappy about.I wanted to upgrade and also gave flowers and champagne for our room,but as you wouldn’t change my reservation I was not willing to pay for the extras I wanted,so we had our evening meals and drinks at the local pub along the road from your hotel.I am looking at coming back to York sometime in April for a longer stay but will look at other hotels first.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Darren, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you had booked on a rate that could not be changed we were unable to change your package but, we could have added in the requests you wanted if you so desired. We appreciate your sharing your concerns. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Toronagga Couples - 02/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Comfortable and spacious rooms »

Easy check-in, the room was spacious and bed large and conformable. Everything was clean and well presented.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Tobias , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
Le Club AccorHotels
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates