Hotel - Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman

3.5/5 660 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Public indoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • WELLINGTON AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:30 - 21:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:30 - 22:00

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Your meetings and events

What you really need in a conference and function venue is flexibility. Based in the centre of New Zealand's capital, Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel should be your first choice for a conference venue.Our rooms are bathed in natural light and are flexible enough to be used for just about every business need.The four main function rooms are complimented by experienced conference personnel based on the same level, catering from just 2 to 120 people. Our facilities are ideally suited to the broadest range of uses, from conferences to special events.

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
STARBOARD ROOM 47 m2 2.6 m 40 25 28 20 36
PORT ROOM 55 m2 2.6 m 50 15 20 30 40
ABEL ROOM 80 m2 2 m 60 30 34 40 40
TASMAN ROOM 87 m2 3 m 100 50 40 60 70
NAUTICAL ROOM 102 m2 2.6 m 100 40 40 40 65
ABEL TASMAN ROOM 167 m2 3 m 150 0 50 75 100
    • Podium
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector
    • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

  • 73 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • Microwave in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 660 reviews
Friends getaway - 21/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Beervana »

Awesome - great service, food, reception - a wonderful stay - we were totally at the mercy of Wellington service persons and they were awesome. I believe they knew we had been to the Beer festival. The hotel is in a wonderful location and has a great kitchen and good beer on tap. We were totally happy :)

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Solo travel - 13/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Good services but big issues with sound from neighbours »

Lovely attentive staff My biggest issue was in room 602 and there was what looked like an old interconnecting door just replaced with a panel. When the people in the next room talked it was like they were in the room! I could hear every word. Also note I’m a very heavy sleeper so a bit of noise doesn’t usually bother me. Couldn’t risk recommending due to this issue alone.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for providing helpful feedback. I am delighted to hear you found the staff lovely and attentive. I sincerely apologise your were disturbed by people in the next room. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Family - 02/06/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Great stay »

Above average staff from initial contact to check out. Couldn't do enough to help. Nothing was a bother. Hotel room was really clean. Handy having a restaurant on site. Restaurant food was really good and staff fabulous.Very close to shopping/ theatres etc.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

The team are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your lovely experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Solo travel - 17/04/2019 TripAdvisor review
« A great night away »

Everything was excellent as it always is. A great bed, great room, great service. No problem sleeping at all even though it was a Saturday Night. Would happily come back and stay again. In fact I am returning in May.

Business - 15/04/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Perfect Central Wellington Hotel »

The Mercure Abel Tasman is centrally located and well within walking distance of the CBD and Victoria University of Wellington (albeit with a step walk to get to the Uni). The hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are large, renovated and well maintained. The staff are great and the downstairs restaurant makes a great coffee as well!

Solo travel - 22/03/2019 TripAdvisor review
« A European-style hotel in Central Wellington »

The appeal of the Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is its unique style: a small, boutique hotel or so it seems as it has few rooms over several floors. [I am usually on Level 7]. It retains the class of bygone eras. The breakfasts and evening meals are both well-presented and value for money. The wait staff are attentive to one's needs and can be relied upon for guidance in selection of an evening meal.. The hotel also appeals to groups of International students and this gives the hotel are further unique quality. Reception is very much attuned to the needs of visitors from other areas of New Zealand, as well as other parts of the world.

Solo travel - 13/03/2019 TripAdvisor review
« More attention to customer comfort needed »

Have stayed before but this time not as well looked after as previously. First room taken to had someone obviously staying in it, Second had an appalling smell like strong mould or chemicals . I'd asked for a quiet room but this one was street frontage so couldn't keep windows open due to noise. Aircon on full helped but room should not have been let that night.$1 Breakfast as part of package was very average but it was not stated I then couldn't use my points towards cost of hotel. I'd rather have used the points.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. I am looking into your feedback. Your feedback is valued and appreciated and helps make a difference.

Couples - 24/02/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Not up to expectations »

It was quite a warm day when we arrived. The building was not air-conditioned and the solitary pedestal fan in the room did not handle the afternoon sun. The curtains were open so the fan never really had a chance. The Abel Tasman is an older hotel than all Mercure hotels I have stayed in previously so perhaps I have been spoiled.

Friends getaway - 05/01/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Nice New Year's break away »

We stayed at Mercure Abel Tasman last year and decided to stay again this year. Located conveniently near most CBD attractions, it makes it really easy to walk down to Cuba St or Courtney Place for a fine meal!The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and provided with fresh towels and shampoo/soap etc. There's a mini fridge and a microwave in the room along with some basic cutlery and bowls. There's not scrubber for the dishes though, so we had to use the dishcloth.The hotel is very nice, on new year's day they left a note asking if we wanted our room serviced as they're aiming to have their housekeeping staff finish by 12pm so they can spend time with their families - we ended up calling reception and letting them know that they can skip our room for that day.The double beds are nice and firm but the single bed was quite squishy - so generally comfortable depending on firmness you're used to!There's no aircon in the rooms so it can get a little stuffy, however you can open the window and an electric fan is provided in our rooms which helps a lot.Overall we had an excellent stay for the price - very affordable! Would love to stay again next time.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear you enjoyed your break away. The team are delighted to hear that you will stay with us again next time you are in Wellington. Your feedback is appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Couples - 18/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« The Best Spot in Wellington »

If your are spending time visiting spots like Te Papa, there's no where better than the Abel Tasman for your base. Excellent service and great rooms. We went to the Terracotta Warriors exhibition, and the Hotel was ideal for the walk across town. Plus there was the shopping on the way.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback.. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pleased that you got to experience the Terracotta Warriors exhibition. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Family - 14/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Disappointing »

This hotel lets the brand down. The lift is dodgy, the room extremely small and bathroom below basic standards. I slipped on slippery , slopey tiles in shower . I hurt my hip and informed rec emotion. They were lukewarm with response of “ Oh that’s no good, hope you’re ok”. At no time was I contacted further to see if I was ok . The breakfast is terrible and we didn’t eat there after the first morning even though it was free. No complimentary coffee for Platinum members is poor form. Overall run do an , old and poorly maintained . Difficult to sleep with noise and car park next door .

Solo travel - 01/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Lovely hotel »

It was great to stay in this hotel at the end of my world trip. It is located not far from the centre. The breakfast was excellent and the double room was big and clean. Only the windows could be renovated.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Couples - 06/11/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Noise problems »

This hotel is on the fringe of the CBD. It is an older building that has been given a cosmetic makeover with upgraded soft furnishings, carpets and a lick of paint. The the dividing walls are still original and provide no insulation from the noise of other guests. The windows are only single glazed do not seal well, there would seem to be no notable views. The room was comfortable but our stay was marred by noise from the adjoining room, and from the construction site across the street from around 7am (even on a Saturday morning).

Friends getaway - 31/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Our stay at the Mercure Wellington »

We enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The room was a good size and in good condition. We had a good sleep for the two nights we stayed. We did not use the dining room this time as we did not have breakfast in our package.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

59paulj Business - 30/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Work trip »

This was a work trip, it is in a good location in the city.It has an inhouse restaurant and has a good selection of food on the menu and a happy hour for drinks.The hotel is in a good clean condition.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for providing sharing your experience and providing helpful feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager.

Business - 29/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Night Staff were exceptional »

I arrived on a very late/early flight in from Sydney and didn't arrive at the hotel until after 1am, that staff were exceptional - they processed my check in quickly and were also kind enough to let me know that if there was anything I needed that they would be on reception all night and to not hesitate to let them know. The perfect amount of speed, accuracy and care.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that your check in experience was exceptional. Our team work hard to provide great service and will be delighted with your feedback. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Business - 13/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Convenient location, clean but very dated »

Great location - smack in the city. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. However, the rooms are very very dated. No airconditioning but the rooms do come with fans and heaters (not sure if this is norm for Wellington).

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. We continue to make improvements throughout the hotel. Most 3-3.5 hotels in Wellington do not have air conditioning. However I am pleased to report that we have recently put air conditioning into some of our superior rooms. We will be continuing the air conditioning project with another two floors of superior rooms getting air conditioning in the coming months. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager .

Family - 01/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Improvements required »

Parking around this hotel is an issue as the basement parking is unable to accommodate our Hyundai Imax. Our rooms are without air conditioning and sometimes the rooms are stuffy. Heater struggle to work at night. Toilet exhaust is not sufficient and room noise insulation is poor. Conversations at next door could be heard clearly. Beds are ageing and in need of replacement.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and helps make a difference. We are installing air conditioning into another two floors in the coming months. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and will continue to make improvements. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Business - 28/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great location, but that's about it »

I was upgraded on my stay, which was appreciated. However, the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, anywhere. The windows need some additional soundproofing, to dampen the nose of rubbish collection at 5am. The rooms could also do with more soundproofing, as I enjoyed the conversation my neighbour was having on their phone, but it wasn't what I wanted. Wouldn't stay there again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear James, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that you did not find the bed comfortable and will look into this. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location. I sincerely apologise that you were disturbed by other guests. Your feedback is extremely helpful and appreciated. It helps us continue to make improvements throughout the hotel. Sincerely, Saurabh Doshi

Business - 17/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« A Mercure hotel that delivers »

this hotel is value for money. the rooms are spacious enough and took into account the needs of a business traveller. the staff are very friendly. you must try to dine in the restaurant. the menu selection is really good and the service is superb. no fuss and they deliver value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
Le Club AccorHotels
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates