Hotel - Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa

4.0/5 3,311 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying

Leisure and activities

Catering

  • Breakfast

Business services

See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

BARCLAYS BANK4.35 km / 2.7 mi CO-OP3.22 km / 2 mi POST OFFICE3.86 km / 2.4 mi
CHEMIST3.06 km / 1.9 mi MEDICAL CENTRE3.06 km / 1.9 mi SAINSBURYS4.02 km / 2.5 mi

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms have natural daylight, air conditioning, wide screen TVs, a breakout space and free WiFi.Meeting rooms in the Hall include air conditioning, large screens, fridges, a breakout space and free WiFi.

Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
CHESTNUT 0 m2 2 m 60 20 20 20 0
COURTYARD SUITE 0 m2 2 m 180 0 36 60 170
MORDAUNT 0 m2 4 m 60 25 0 0 50
ROWAN 0 m2 2 m 50 20 23 14 0
SYCAMORE 0 m2 2 m 0 0 0 0 50
ELM 13 m2 2 m 0 0 6 0 0
HOLLY 13 m2 2 m 0 0 0 0 0
OAK 13 m2 2 m 0 0 6 0 0
ASH 13 m2 2 m 0 0 6 0 0
WICKEN 17 m2 3 m 12 0 8 0 0
MASSINGHAM 21 m2 3 m 14 8 10 0 0
AVONCLIFFE 29 m2 3 m 20 12 14 8 0
BEECH 36 m2 2 m 30 14 14 9 27
SILVERTON 36 m2 3 m 30 12 16 9 0
PINE 37 m2 2 m 30 14 14 9 0
POPLAR 41 m2 2 m 30 14 14 9 0
BADGWORTH 43 m2 3 m 35 12 16 8 0
INDORE 44 m2 3 m 45 16 16 10 0
D'EIVILE 44 m2 5 m 40 16 14 8 0
CEDAR 45 m2 2 m 30 14 18 12 0
MONCRIEFFE 157 m2 4 m 120 0 0 0 120
COURTYARD 262 m2 3 m 180 60 40 60 170
    • Podium
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

The bedrooms in the Hotel are comfortable and modern in design. The bedrooms in the Hall are spacious and individually designed with your comfort in mind. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • 197 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 8 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,311 reviews
Family - 06/11/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Lacking in 4 star department »

For a four star hotel cleanliness poor bugs in window sill past residents toys and dummy under the couch. No blinds at the window of bathroom just the holders left up... No bed for our child in the apartment after booked 2 adults and a child no bath towel for child. No bath robes... Menus in restaurant on pieces of tatty paper. Staff untrained. Cheese board cheddar and brie only no other choice... Vsop brandy served in a tumbler. When asked for a brandy glass was told we only have one...which was on the side in the bar.i could go on and on.

Couples - 03/10/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Walton Hall, faded glory »

We have stayed at Walton Hall (the house) over the last 10 years on and off, combined with a trip to the RSC its a great weekend end away. This time was a bit disappointing, the room we had was nice, clean, big, good views over the chapel. The grounds are great, all the wild foul, the walks, and a nice time of year to visit. The Service was good, food at dinner (we had a package deal) was good, the service was good. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to shout about either. But clearly some cost saving decisions have been made, the Hall has no check in, it has no bar, it has no soul, its just rooms. The meals are taken in the new hotel situated behind the Hall, reception for the complex and dining is there also. Previously it was nice to take a drink in the conservatory bar before dinning in the Hall. I think in summary, its a lovely place to visit, it just lacks the things it used to have, the things that made a great experience. Its now focused on functions and weddings, selling the Hall rooms out as a means to an end. it needs work too, our first room leaked from the ceiling during heavy rain. I hope it can survive, it doesn't feel to great at the moment though, it needs someone to care about it.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Colin, Thank you for you review, i am pleased you have continued to enjoy 10 years of Walton Hall. I hope you will enjoy a further 10 and see the hotel evolve and be reinvented along the way. I am sorry you suffered a leak during your stay, i am aware that we have had to had to carry out urgent repairs to the roof this month. I hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards Joanne

Couples - 01/09/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Love this place but rooms getting tired... »

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times over many years and we love the place. This time we noticed a serious 'tired' feeling to the room, with worn carpet and tatty chairs. Some cracks in the bathroom and only left with very few toiletries - really not up to 4 star and just about a 3 star standard... The grounds are also not being as well kept and this is one of the main reasons we stay here - the grass and general upkeep is lacking and feeling very 'unloved'. Having said that, there has clearly been some investment in the bar and restaurant areas and these are looking great! - We enjoyed breakfast every morning and this was fresh and mostly well replenished! - The bar are is also looking fresher and more welcoming - the only problem is they never have the drink you want and the bar is not well stocked at all... We love it here so please invest in the room standards and maintain the 4 star we are used to. It feels like you are cutting costs to the expense of customer satisfaction - we really should not have to ask for shampoo every day - this is a BASIC....more than 1 for 2 people....!!! Thanks for another very relaxing stay but hope you will not let this drop to a 3 star hotel...

Couples - 26/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Faded glories »

We have been staying here for many years, because it is a pleasant country hotel with a pool and near people we need to visit. In the past two years we have noticed a decline in standards (or maybe we have become more sensitive). Carpets and curtains more ragged and dirty, minor functional faults such as blown light bulbs or broken plumbing controls, less generous provision in the rooms (eg of shower gel or biscuits). It has always been s little less comfortable to be in the annexe when the weather is bad, or in the top floor at any time because of the unusual health and safety regulations that forbid openable windows. The cleaning is now failing to reach the edges and corners. For example, the floor in the dining room is presumably frequently cleaned, but the last centimetre by the wall was very grubby at the end of August. Another example of careless husbandry was the freezer by the window of Reception, which provided us with a Magnum that was melting as we unwrapped it. We are not sure of the reasons for these problems - there are three possibilities. First, maybe the hotel has fallen on hard times, and cannot get the staff to operate it properly. Second, maybe a new and 'efficient' management is bearing down hard on costs, economising on all the little things that it thinks are not necessary, cutting the expenditure on checking everything thoroughly. Third, maybe the management has become lazy, and is not checking up on everything all the time. Whatever, it is sad to see increasing signs of decline in this otherwise delightful home from home.

Business - 15/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« DIning experience was shockingly bad »

Food presented was slow in coming, cold and/or overcooked. Desserts didn't even remotely resemble the description. Sticky toffee pudding should have toffee not cold custard. Steaks were tasteless, chicken was dry as a dessert. Service was sparse and not professional in any way.

Couples - 15/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Weekend away »

Enjoyed our stay in a lovely location. the only thing I would say is that the hotel is trying to be a 4 star but I would class it as a 3.5. the reason for this is that there seems to be a lack of organisation with in the staff ( even though they all tried ). Booked dinner for 8 pm sat order wine and our main was on the table ( not freshly hot ) very enjoyable though. At 9 pm had to ask were our desserts were as per ordered with main, again enjoyable. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the use of the spar is always a bounus, would we stay again yes is but only if the price temps us

Couples - 14/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« NOT SURE »

DESPITE HAVING BOOKED OUR ROOM 4/5 MONTHS IN ADVANCE AND WITH ONLINE CONFIRMATION,to our disgust,we found after a bad night at sea on a cruise and a drive up from Southampton,we were not on the system,no room,nothing.Staff on reception offered us a complimentary drink vouchers x 2,when we went to redeem the vouchers,it wasn't really complimentary as we could only choose from,beer/lager,glass of wine or soft drinks.We were referred to I assume a manager who eventually found us tucked away on the system and went to sort it out.It was very embarrassing as there was a wedding group waiting for reception.We can only assume from this that priority had been given to this group.It was also the last surprise part of 70TH BIRTHDAY GIFT FOR MY PARTNER.We were eventually found a room but by this time,we felt very uncomfortable as if we were intruding.The only good thing out of our stay was the cheerful barman who served us our "complimentary drinks".

Family - 13/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Tired and dirty »

Beautiful setting but slow service and terrible room cleanliness. This was brought to the attention of the team and still not rectified. Also various administrative mistakes. All in all disappointing.

Couples - 09/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Expensive for below average service »

It took 1 Hour to get a room where the air conditioning worked. The 1st evening we ate there it took over an hour between the starter and main course arriving by which time it was 9.30 pm so wasn't hungry then it took a waitress 10 further mins to find a salt pot. 2nd night we ate they put green beans and peas in with the rice for a chicken masala curry. 3rd night we ordered 1 gammon steak and 1 pork strips in bacon a foreign waitress brought 2 dishes on pork strips we explained what we had ordered she went back to ask the chef and then brought back the same two dishes, we explained again so she left 1 dish, I then ate mine and had finished & they cleared my plate before my wife's gammon turned up & I had to wait 20 mins for my drink to arrive. After complaining for the 3rd time head waitress made a special effort for us the last night which was the reason for our visit our 30th wedding anniversary which made the service average. We paid a lot of money to stay in beautiful surroundings & get 1st class service which we got when we stayed here 5 years earlier but know Mercure have taken the hotel over we have had better service at holiday inn or beefeater restaurants and paid loads less. Disappointing

Business - 05/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Good Hotel, but incompetent staff »

It took me ten days and several emails to finally get my invoice. Even though I paid in advance before my arrival. I was told that they were not able to allocate my payment. Other than that, the Hotel was fine.

Ros G Friends getaway - 24/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Spa Weekend »

Stayed here with 4 other friends to celebrate my 70th Birthday. Lovely Spa & very tasty food with generous portions - would recommend the Caesar salad with prawns- best I've ever had! Be aware that the Reception is quite a walk away from the main building if you are in a Superior room.(Our room was huge with 3 large windows with an amazing view but this room was a bit tired ) No lift in the main building & from our experience no porters readily available to help with luggage. We did have a few issues with our room which was rather unfortunate but the problems were addressed on checkout & we received a 50% reduction to our bill. Would recommend staying in the new part of the hotel for ease of use.

Family - 18/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Rooms on the top floor »

We attended a lovely wedding in lovely surroundings but were very disappointed in our room. It looked lovely and seemed to have all the facilities but there was no opening window and it was a very hot day. We turned what we thought was the air conditioning down in the early evening so that it would cool down by bedtime. However this was not an air conditioning unit and our room was 25 degrees Celsius when we returned to go to bed. The staff on site were very helpful and brought two fans when I complained about the heat and we did eventually sleep. I believe that rooms with no opening window and no air conditioning are not fit for purpose when the temperature is high! Unable to complain at checkout as long queue to checkout and only one person on the desk!

Companion05672386365 Family - 17/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« No staff means no customer service »

Had 2 rooms, one twin was upgraded to the main house. Air con broken and windows sealed! Hotel aware and said would fix, however didn’t. On check out I asked for the complaints procedure and was told look on the website. Not great after a very hot night!!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Companion05672386365, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your experience at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall, Hotel and Spa. I am sorry that this experience did not meet your expectations. I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to the two rooms you had with us during your stay, I hope that this did not negatively impact the rest of your stay. We hope to welcome you back to better serve you in the future. If you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Couples - 17/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Atmospheric beautiful old building »

Loved staying here in the old hall rooms. Unique building and lovely grounds. If you are going to stay in the old part, take an electric fan as the rooms are ridiculously hot though with either no or barely working air con, and no opening windows. Other than that, lovely rooms.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear salclem, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your most recent stay with us at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall, Hotel and Spa. I am thrilled to read that you had such a positive stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful grounds we have surrounding our hotel. Please allow be to express my sincerest apologies if you were caused any discomfort my the temperature during your stay, your comments are being taken on board and addressed in the best way we can. We hope to be able to welcome you back to better serve you in the future. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

S7936WCrobertb Family - 11/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Stunning Hotel and grounds - but what has happened to the Food ? »

I stayed at Walton Hall exactly a year previous to this visit and thought the entire stay and service was brilliant ,great room ,good restaurant and bar and good food .However what a difference a year makes in catering .The hotel and grounds are still a joy to behold but the food and portion sizes an absolute joke .The restaurant now has only set menu dishes on and you cant order anything from the bar menu in the restaurant - this was a problem if some of your party doesn't like the set dishes .This happened on Saturday night ,so we eat in the bar and the dishes we ordered were missing the mushrooms which we had to ask about before being told they had ran out of them ,also no fish left as some of our company requested .We gave the kitchen the benefit of the doubt as it was busy .However on the much quieter Sunday night - the restaurant menu was again a set menu of ROASTS -Turkey ,Beef and Gammon - more a Sunday lunch menu !So back to the bar again as our request was again turned down for our company to eat from the Bar Grill menu in the restaurant .This time the bar menu had fish on so two of us ordered it (Fish & Chips as stated on the menu )- what we got was a well fired piece of fish the size of an average FISH FINGER - we complained and were given a story that the chef picks the best fillets for customers - this was rubbish as the fish must be serving many different people at this size ,we were eventually given another similar sized piece of overcooked over priced at £15 fish.I personally had Steak which again seemed smaller than listed on the menu - altogether both nights were a food disaster -unlike last year which was excellent (when like any other hotel there was a grill menu available in the restaurant )My Sister and her friend also had afternoon tea on the Sunday afternoon which most of which was sent back - the sandwiches were held together by a skewer and were hard and curled up at the edges due to lying about in open air obviously before being delivered .WHY OH WHY is a fantastic ,beautiful hotel like this being destroyed by its catering - especially its menus and its CHEF ,this mans work needs investigated and if not improved he needs removed .I would suggest a large professional organisation like Accor needs to MYSTERY SHOP Walton Hall and sort these problems .I will be back as I love the hotel and setting but next time will be a last chance as im sure many people feel - after all I recommended Walton Hall and felt terrible about it.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear S7936WCrobertb, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience with us at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall, Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your spositive comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. I also note your comments regarding your restaurant experiences and I am sorry that these issues had a negative effect on your stay. Guest feedback, both positive and negative is invaluable to us as it enables us to improve our services. I have alerted our F&B Manager to your comments for investigation, and I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to be able to welcome you back and better serve you and your guests in the near future. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Couples - 20/06/2019 TripAdvisor review
« stay 14-16 June »

stayed for 2 nights with my partner. overall the experience was average and i wouldn't visit again. there were some lovely staff members and some not so lovely. It really irriates me when you have a two night stay but they deactivate your door card so when you are bursting for a wee you can not get back into your room without going to reception. which is what happened to us, the receptionist made up an excuse and said it will work, then it didnt 15 minuites later and 3 attempts we got back in our room. We booked a table for 8pm on the evening and went down a little earlier i spoke to one of the younger waitresses and said we are having a drink int he bar please let us know when you want us to come in the dining room. she never came. the food in the dinning room was mass produced and poor quality not enjoyable. the guy running the bar was amazing and made us feel most welcome. the surroundings were lovely and looking out of the window to greenary was enjoyable. the maids do an excellent job. we requested room service on the saturday evening, we could not get through to the resturant. we tried reception again didnt want to know. so we went to the bar and explained the situation and they were more than happy to help. the pool area was nice there was a lack of information in the room you had to guess your way around.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Resort18162845720, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to your restaurant experience and will discuss the issues you have raised with my F&B Managers for further investigation. I apologise if your experience had a negative effect on your stay with us at Walton Hall. I can assure you that guest feedback, both positive and negative is invaluable to us as it enables us to highlight ways in which we need to improve our services to ensure that we consistently provide a superior service. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Venture50382668124 Business - 17/06/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Great Stay »

Great place to stay with great staff and opportunities, location ideal for Warwick. Looking forward to another stay in the near future. Thanks for a great stay. Perfect place for both business and pleasure.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Venture50382668124, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall, Hotel and Spa. I am thrilled that you have had such a positive experience with us, I will be sure to pass on your review to all of the staff, who will be thrilled they were able to assist you in having a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Couples - 12/06/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Well woth booking one of the suites »

We had a lovely last minute stay in, the suite was brilliant and have a lovely evening in the bar & restaurant, topped off with a really decent breakfast in bed. The grounds are very nice and relaxing too.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear rab19 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read your positive comments. I will be sure to pass on kind words to the staff, especially the F&B Team. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Couples - 27/03/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Nice surrindings but quite Amateurish »

Really a mix of genuine professional staff (Silvia in the Bar f.ex.) and not so serviceminded staff (Check in f.ex.). Surprising to find out that ordering breakfast in the online booking is £15,50 and when you check in there is a sign that says that you can buy breakfast for £10. We were told that the restaurant was fully booked but between 1730 to 2130 there was at least 4 empty tables, clearly visibel from the Bar. Room ok but black mould around the window, broken chair, TV didnt work. When told the reception the reaction was "Ok, I will tell maintanace". Doesn´t help much if you only staying one night. Overall a stay that could have been so very nice but now became a disapointment. I would like to say that we would recomend your hotel but will not do that.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Global23759761060, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us, I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I am disappointed to read your comments in relation your bedroom and will discuss the issues you have raised with my Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers for further investigation. We hope to be able to welcome you back again, to better serve you in the future. If you wish to discuss any of these issues further please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Family - 28/02/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Wonderful Setting for a Half Term Break »

We wanted a relaxing half term break and the Walton Hall Hotel and Spa delivered in spades! The setting is splendid, peaceful isolation in beautiful grounds in the Warwickshire countryside. We spent 3 nights in Room 1 - a grand suite in the character filled old hall with the most splendid views across the lake and down the tree lined drive. We we very fortunate with the weather, splendid sunshine allowing us to enjoy all that the huge grounds had to offer. As the weather was good - the walk to and from the hotel bar and restaurant from the old hall was lovely, but I would imagine that in more typical British weather it could be a bit inconvenient. The way around this would be to stay in one of the rooms in the more modern main hotel, but for this trip the character of the suites in the old hall were worth it. Breakfast was wonderful and we ate dinner on 2 nights at the hotel, which was perfectly good quality. One small point is that the bar is too small for the size of the Hotel when it is busy - on the Saturday night it was very difficult to get a seat for a drink before going into the restaurant for dinner. There is a bar in the conservatory i n the Old Hall, which wasn't open - I must say it would a real bonus for those staying in that part of the hotel if this was open as it is a lovely location to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The leisure facilities are pretty good - our 7 year old daughter loved the pool and the gym facilities are excellent. One top tip - book any Spa treatments before you go - we decided on the Sunday that we'd like to have a treatment on the Tuesday, but it was fully booked until the Thursday morning. The hotel is close to the M40 and Stratford-upon-Avon is only a short drive if you want something lively. Also the Bell at Alderminster is one of the best gastro-pubs that I have experienced. We had dinner there on one of the nights and it was fabulous. Finally, the staff at the hotel were helpful and very friendly. We will definitely come back again and book our spa treatments in advance!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ttfothergill, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall, Hotel and Spa. I am thrilled that you had such a positive stay with us in Room 1 and you were able to make the most of all the facilities we offer our guests. At Mercure we strive to deliver the high standards of customer service and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Ian Chaplin

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
Le Club AccorHotels
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates