Hotel - Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Grand Mercure Hotel Grand Mercure Hotel

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

4.0/5 3,523 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying

Leisure and activities

Catering

  • Breakfast

Business services

See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Congress centre

RIO CENTRO40 km / 24 mi SUL AMERICA15 km / 9.32 mi

Your meetings and events

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
COPA 2 50 m2 2 m 32 10 12 0 0
COPA1 69 m2 2 m 51 15 18 0 0
IPANEMA 88 m2 2 m 90 40 26 45 0
LEME 88 m2 2 m 90 40 26 45 0
COPA1 E 2 119 m2 2 m 115 43 46 0 0
GAVEA 184 m2 3 m 180 50 60 100 60
    • Videoconferencing
    • Podium
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector
    • Airconditioned meeting room
    • Simultaneous interpreting

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

  • 319 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 11 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Telephone in bathroom
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars
4.0/5 AccorHotels Rating 296 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,523 reviews
Ados2 Friends getaway - 08/11/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Excellent Location and Staff »

The hotel has an excellent location for tourists in Rio. The staff is committed, nice, polite and very attentive. Some rooms and the pool on the rooftop have astonishing views of Copacabana beach. Small drawbacks are that a renovation would improve the comfort of the rooms, the pool is pleasant but too small for the size of the hotel and if you want a cozy and calm hotel, this hotel could be not the best option for you as it is busy and sometimes loud.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi, Ados2. Thank you very much for your review. We're currently renovating our rooms because we understand the need to improve our structure. I hope we can welcome you again really soon. Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Great accommodation »

Great accommodation, with a excellent breakfast. Wonderful location in one of the best beaches of Rio de Janeiro.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Daniel, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Hugo Couples - 21/10/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Cordial »

Amable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hola, Ricardo. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Quedamos muy felizes en saber que hemos proporcionado una agradable estadía. Espero volver a verle muy pronto. Un saludo,

Mark F. Couples - 21/10/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels

Excellent holiday in Rio and stay at the hotel. Very good check in with Camila on my arrival. Nice room with welcome gift....Thankyou. The breakfast was one of the best at any Accor hotel I’ve recently visited. Very special mention to Claudia on the lobby bar....very friendly and she makes the best caipirinhas!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear MARK F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Thomas C. Solo - 03/10/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Great location and lovely hotel »

Staff were lovely and helpful, rooms gray have everything you need (they currently undergoing redecoration ). Breakfast is busy due to smaller sized donning room but always plenty available so once you’ve got a seat there isn’t any issue - managed well

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear THOMAS C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Brazil V. Business - 03/10/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Good hotel by Brazilian Standards »

In general, the stay was good. Good room size (Rm 1566c), air-conditioning, clean. On the other hand, the TV did not work beyond 12 channels. I had to physically disconnect the mains power to reset the TV. Poor picture quality (grainy picture). Also, the toilet flush did not work as intended. I had to top-up the water in the flush tank externally, to get it to work. I left a message with reception, the day after my arrival but nothing was done till my departure.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Winston, Thank you for letting us know your experience. We're sorry for these failures you found in your stay. Our maintenance team was notified to verify your room and this points you mentioned, in order to avoid that other guests experience the same. We really hope we can welcome you again in a near future. Best Regards,

Aj Families - 24/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Miss »

Overall the stay was very pleasant. Staff were consistently helpful. The only negative was that I stayed in room 1766, which is directly below the gym. Once in use you were awoke. The compounding noise of the treadmill.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear THERESA C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Friends getaway - 24/09/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Decent hotel in a good spot »

The hotel is in a good location; right in the middle of Copacabana. The room is ok, spacious but nothing spectacular (very moist and not that clean). They did give us an upgrade to the “best room” in the hotel for the last night after we had a terrible experience with the hotel’s bikes. It is a nice perk to have access to free bikes during a stay but those are definitely not in the best shape and not that safe. They also offer us a free dinner which was a nice gesture. However, someone from the staff (assuming the cleaning lady) cracked my iPad! Even though, the manager tried to solve the issue by looking for a screen to replace my cracked one, no one apologized for it! In the end they offered me a 75 USD discount on my bill... this hotel has potential but there is lots to fix...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear 579loics, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. We explained that due the time you had, unfortunately we were not able to fix your screen so we called the Iplace support and asked how much it would be to replace it. The price was 399 reais and then we refunded you. All your comments will be led to our team in order to improve our service. I'm at your disposal and hope we can welcome you again. Rodrigo Landa

Martin P. Couples - 19/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« I expected more from Mercure »

The room was spacious and clean, however having the part of bathroom (sink & related) in the room is not very convenient. Furthermore, despite having promised a view to the street, we had a "view" to a between-building-yard, where all the noisy machines were placed

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear MARTIN P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We're verifying what happened since we didn't received any confirmation of a street view room. We really hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Gustavo Z. Business - 16/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Superb stay »

As a frequent guest, I chose Grand Mercury Copacabana for the perfect service and friendly staff that makes me feel very welcomed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GUSTAVO z., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Edson A. Business - 16/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Localization and accomodations »

I stayed 2 nights only and is was very satisfied with the accommodations and the kindness of attendants. Also the localization is very good

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear EDSON A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Brazil L. Friends - 07/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Great stay......some upgrades needed »

I love the hotel....it has a really wonderful charm... Breakfast was awesome

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear QUENTIN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Betti Solo - 05/09/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Would love to come back! »

Great location, friendly staffs, good facilities.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GLIER B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Family - 28/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Good Hotel, Location and Breakfast »

Very well located, excellent breakfast, but the service could be a little better. We were in three in the same room and they prepared the room only for two. As asked more pillows, blanket and hygiene items and we didn’t receive the blanket. Even so I would be staying at thia hotel again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gilson, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're really happy to know that you had an amazing time during your stay. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience - I have already talked in person to the housekeeping staff in order to avoid situations like that to happen again in future. We are looking forward to your next visit! Rodrigo Landa

Anonymous Friends - 27/08/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Disappointing »

Disappointing. The hotel is not up to Mercure's standards

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JULIO VICTOR V., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Gary Business - 27/08/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« very disappointed for cost and value »

Very poor. Elevators did not work, internet did not work, AC unit was loud, restaurant kept running out of cutlery and plates, hotel was understaffed and hotel was undergoing major renovations

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GARY T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Business - 26/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« 3+ hotel »

Good location and clean rooms. The staff is a bit arrogant and when asking for an hour extension on check-out did not bother to check availability. The rooms are not equipped with iron or ironing board so not the best choice for business travellers (ironing is available with housekeeping but charged additionally).

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear bploch, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. I have already talked in person to my team in order to remind them how important it is to give our guests the best service and attention. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again and show how important you are to us. Rodrigo Landa

Geraldo K. Couples - 21/08/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« What we can say more, the hotel was perfect. »

A dream in Rio. Almost evertything in this hotel was perfect. The crew, the cleanless, the breakfast, the restaurant, the view, the location, the room and the bathroom. I have only one suggestion: allow the windows of the doors to be opened.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GERALDO LUIZ K. M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Anonymous Business - 20/08/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels
« Disaster »

Hotel under renovation and was not informed when booking, arriving the accommodation (room) was smelling strongly of paint and looking like it had not been cleaned. You have to ask to change but as the hotel is under renovation it has not improved much.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DANIELLE G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Tess M. Business - 12/08/2019 Confirmed reviews AccorHotels

Very clean and great reception desk

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear AIWEN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
Le Club AccorHotels
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates